Orland Park Theatre Troupe Presents OKLAHOMA!

Orland Park Theatre Troupe Presents OKLAHOMA!
Posted on 06/24/2015

An American classic comes to the Orland Park stage June 12-14 when the Village of Orland Park Theatre Troupe presents its summer musical, “Oklahoma!”

“Most people don’t know that Oklahoma was the first musical written by Rodgers and Hammerstein,” said Producer/Director Frann Carnivele. “That’s some good musical trivia. Oklahoma was their first of many great musicals,” she said.

The original Broadway production opened in March 1943 to rave reviews and ran for more than 2,200 performances. The musical won a special Pulitzer Prize in 1944 and the 1955 movie won an Academy Award.

“Anyone who has seen the 1955 movie remembers Shirley Jones in the starring role. That’s Mrs. Partridge for those born in the 1960s,” Carnivele said smiling. “The movie had a great cast,” she said.

Orland Park’s performances will be at the Carl Sandburg High School Performing Arts Center, 13100 South LaGrange Road. Shows are at 7 p.m. on Friday, June 12 and Saturday, June 13 with a 2 p.m. matinee on Sunday, June 14.

Reserved seat tickets are currently on sale at Recreation Administration, 14650 South Ravinia Avenue. Adults are $18 each, with seniors/students at $16 each and children age 12 and under at $14.

Orland Park’s production features Annie Roach of Plainfield appearing as Laurey with Michael Carioto of Worth playing Curley. Orland Park’s Jennifer Shoemaker portrays Aunt Eller with Rudy Chavez playing the part of Will Parker. Orland Park’s Sarah Callis is Ado Annie and Matt Bedell of Frankfort is Ali Haikem. Bryan Riess of Burbank appears as Jud Fry.

Orland Park residents appearing in the show include Allison Belair, Amanda Belair, Hannah Belair, Michelle Belair, Allison Boertlein, Caroline Bueche, Ann Burns, Bridget Burns, Ellie Callis, Rose Foley, Jack Ford, Cara Hall and Amy Henrichs. Additional Orland Parkers include Jillian Kuligoski, Joanna Leafblad, Veronica Leafblad, Mollie McCormick, Dan McMillan, Nicolette Mutnansky, Tom Sadzewicz, Jacob Sexton, Nicole Stubenfoll, Kari Torgerson, Taylor Villa and Leah Vithoulkas.

Tinley Park residents in the show include Gavin Juwayyid and Rachael Juwayyid. The cast also includes Erin Davidson (Park Forest), Mariah Dicksen (Lockport), Jamie Maniatis (Palos Hills), Mike Manolakes (Bolingbrook), Brooke McWherter (Lockport), Griffin Morgan (Lisle) and Amanda Piotrowski (Burbank).

Bryan Riess is the show’s assistant director with Michael Barr and Andrea Langford serving as musical director and choreographer, respectively.

For more information, call the village’s Recreation Department at 708/403-7275.